Introduction

Name:  Geoff
Age:  27
Location:  Palmerston North, New Zealand
Height:  181cm
Starting weight:  114kg
Current weight:  99kg

Welcome to my fitness journal.  My primary motivation for losing weight and getting fit is to get on top of my depression – something I’ve experienced since I was 17.  However, it’s only been this past year that I have started to take exercise and looking after myself seriously.

The highest weight I’ve ever recorded was 114kg in November 2010.  At this time I was struggling with depression very much, ate insane amounts of junk food (lots of coke, chocolate, potato chips and fish&chips for dinner or lunch almost every day) and got very little exercise (if walking to the shops to buy more junk food counts!).

I hated the way I felt and looked; I was always breathing heavily, felt sluggish and I started to get heart palpitations and chest pains, usually after I’d eaten fish and chips.  This started to really concern me, and after seeing a doctor I discovered my blood pressure was alarmingly high for someone my age.  We monitored it for a few months but eventually I had to be put on blood pressure medication

My doctor prescribed me a green prescription which was introductory gym classes and lessons on healthy eating etc.  The best part about it was after the course had finished, I was able to join a great gym at a discounted rate.

I found the gym very hard at first and although I knew I wanted to lose weight, I really struggled with motivation.  I decided it would be easier (and less embarrassing) at first to workout at home on my Nintendo Wii  (EA Sports Active 1&2, Wii Fit Plus, etc).  I had some success with this, but it was very on/off.  Though I had joined a gym with the best of intentions, I hardly went in the first 6 months.

It was in June this year  (6 months ago) I started taking an antidepressant medication that changed my life.  I had already tried 5 different medications in the past, which were no help whatsoever, so I was completely stoked that this one started to work almost immediately.  It was like I was taking speed (I imagine); I was suddenly motivated and had lots of energy.

I started going to the gym 5 mornings a week and I no longer craved all the junk food I had been eating.  Seriously, I just didn’t need it any more.  I was amazed at how much this drug helped, and I felt somewhat validated; after years of low self esteem and self-doubt, this drug proved that I had a chemical imbalance that had been making my life extremely difficult.  And now I was able to manage that.

As you can see from the graph above, the weight started coming off immediately. Faster at first, but still at an okay rate today.  I’ve lost 15kg since this time last year, but most of it in the last 6 months.

This is only the beginning.  I want to go a lot further with this.

So much happens in a weight loss journey, and there are many aspects to consider.  I’ve started this blog so I can keep track of my progress and process all my thoughts to stay on top of things.  I hope it will keep me motivated to succeed.

Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. Luca

     /  November 24, 2011

    I’m really proud of you! You are so much happier and looking GREAT! 😀 ❤

    Reply
  2. Sara

     /  November 25, 2011

    I saw your link on FB. Thanks for letting us follow your journey. That graph is impressive. 🙂 Keep it up!

    Reply
  3. Just be careful with the weight loss, ok? The usual pattern after losing weight is that when people plateau and get frustrated they start to gain it back again, and usually gain twice what they lost. Giving up will very likely end you up in a worse state than where you started, is what I’m saying. Don’t make the weight loss the target, thinking that ‘when I get to so and so I’ll be happy’ – make the lifestyle change and the enjoyment that comes from it the priority, the weight loss achievements should just be supplementary goals along the way. The junk food thing is an addiction, and the proven, most effective way to conquer an addiction is by substituting another set of behaviours, preferably healthy ones. So instead of getting the ‘happy fix’ from a particular junk food, learn to get it from a healthier alternative by concentrating on a particularly enjoyable aspect of the better choice – the smell of cooking something you enjoy, or the time spent in the kitchen or even – for some people – setting the table. Above all else, surround yourself with people who encourage and support you in living the healthier lifestyle – it’s underrated but it’s seriously a HUGE part of losing weight and keeping it off. Stay clear of (or minimise contact with) people who undermine your efforts (and I’ll admit I was one, without even realising it), forge stronger friendships with people who are going where you want to go. Luca’s training can be a real inspiration, and your own achievements will help her meet her goals. Nigel’s another one who is making great progress, but who also may need some support. But don’t compare yourself to your brother or to anyone else, because if you’re always measuring yourself up against someone else then there’s a chance you’ll get depressed if they start to do ‘better’ than you – only measure yourself against YOU, look back at where you were and be proud of where you are now, and enjoy doing the things you couldn’t do back then. And LISTEN when people tell you how well you’re looking, believe them, and let that spur you on (your facebook profile pic really IS pretty studly).

    Can I suggest something? I don’t know if anybody’s interested, and I’d hate to impose, but have you considered maybe making this a collaborative blog? By letting Luca and others who are focusing on the same sort of health and fitness goals as yourself update you on their progress every so often, you could both give and receive encouragement at the same time. A small community of people that you know and like, who like you back and who are committed to the same goals, could really help keep you focused. Seriously, look into it… the feelings of community, friendship and support are why things like dance classes and sports teams appeal to people and actually work. Just a thought 🙂

    Reply
  4. Thanks, guys!

    liminalD – that is a fantastic idea! I’ll see what I can do.

    Reply
  5. Luca

     /  November 25, 2011

    Ive got all mine written down in a diary.. I should transfer it to a blog…. I will see what I can do 😀

    Reply

Leave a comment

