12kg in 8 weeks– Beginning

580841_10151254222695908_1146747436_n

And so it begins!  I completely lost my diet and exercise mojo over winter.  Part of it was getting used to a new job and shift work, but mostly it was lack of motivation.

10 months ago my weight was at an all-time low of 91.4kg.  I had lost over 20kg since I was at my worst of 114kg a couple of years ago.  However, over winter I managed to put half of that weight back on.  I am pleased, though, that my weight appears to have levelled out half-way.  Putting half of it back on is definitely better than being back to where I started.  (note: this graph only shows the past year – not where I started)

weightgraph

I didn’t plan on starting another weight-loss program; I knew I had to get back into fitness but I prefer to do things at my own pace. But recently my gym issued a challenge I couldn’t refuse:

 

Lose 12kg in 8 weeks and you will receive a 12 month gym membership (worth $884).

 

It really appealed to the competitive streak in me, and losing 12kg would put me right back where I was at my prime.

Yesterday was the introduction and first weigh in. The program seems okay.  Lots of group activities and 4 included PT sessions.

For the next 8 weeks my days are as follows:
Monday:  Morning gym and weigh in,   (work in the evening)
Tuesday:  Morning gym, evening nutrition seminar.
Wednesday:  Morning rest, evening group fitness
Thursday:  Morning gym, evening group fitness
Friday: Noon group circuit, (work in the evening)
Saturday and Sunday:  (work all day), light jog in the evenings.

The program works on a points system and there are prizes for those with the most points.  You get points each time you attend the gym or a fitness class, weigh in on time and fill out food logs, and lose points for failing to weigh in, drinking alcohol or not attending sessions.

Getting back into healthy eating feels good.  It’s only been a couple of days but no cravings yet.  I’m having all bran with sultanas for breakfast, snacking on fruit and raw nuts during the day,  home made wholemeal bread with peanut for lunch,  sipping green tea and water throughout the day, and last night I had grilled fish cakes with broccoli and carrot for dinner.  Not a bad start if I do say so myself.

I also found this seemingly great product at the supermarket called Vita Sport Water Booster, which gives water a bit of flavour. It has an artificial sweetener so low in calories.  It has lots of B-vitamins but apparently that’s a bit of a have – most people have enough anyway.  But if it encourages me to drink more water at little expense, I’m all for it.

I did buy some diet coke and a packet of individually wrapped mini dark-chocolate pieces for when I get cravings, though.  I don’t expect to turn to them often;  they should last a few weeks.

12kg in 8 weeks is going to be a huge challenge but I’m going to give it my best shot.  Bring it on.  I feel so good being back on track.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. You can totally do this! Congrats on taking the first steps ❤

    Reply
  2. Best of luck dude!

    Reply

Leave a comment

